Action Alert: Email the MRT

In response to the hurried and flawed process used to develop proposals for Medicaid redesign, the SOS-C asks allies to send emails to members of the Medicaid Redesign Team expressing our distaste with their decision making process.

Sample text and email addresses of MRT members are below.

——-

Subject: Disappointed with Medicaid Redesign Process

Sample text:

“Medicaid Redesign Team –

We are saddened and angered by the “rush to judgment” on February 24th in the vote of the Medicaid Redesign Team to approve a package of recommendations that you had in your hands for less than 24 hours.  There had been major changes in what recommendations you were being asked to vote on, yet you voted.  The information was just made available on the web site the same day as the vote.  The aborting of the time frame by five days meant the public had no opportunity to review, digest, and comment on this package – much of which will have a dramatic impact on people’s lives.

The process had so many flaws that it would be difficult to name all of them.  But while trying to appear as this was a public transparent process, in the end it was anything but open and public.  To cite just one “mistake”, Mr. Introne acknowledged publicly at the meeting on February 24th that people who had been listed in support of proposal #67, had actually spoke in opposition to this proposal.  #67, or Berger 2, would make money available to close, consolidate or merge hospitals, nursing homes, and clinics and was actively supported by Ken Raske (GNYHA) and Stephen Berger.”

Email addresses of MRT members:

Ann Monroe<amonroe@chfwcny.org>;Arlene Gonzalez-Sanchez<arlenesanchez@oasas.state.ny.us>;Joe Giglio (Assembly)<giglioj@assembly.state.ny.us>; Assemblyman Richard N. Gottfried<gottfried@assembly.state.ny.us>; Carol Raphael<craphael@vnsny.org>; DanSisto<dsisto@hanys.org>; Dennis Rivera<drseiu@aol.com>; Dr. JeffreySachs<jsachs@sachsmessage.com>; Nirav Shah<nrs02@health.state.ny.us>; Dr. William Streck<william.streck@bassett.org>; Ed Matthews<ematthews@ucpnyc.org>; Eli Feldman<efeldman@mjhs.org>; Elizabeth Swain<eswain@chcanys.org>; Frank Branchini<fbranchini@emblemhealth.com>; GeorgeGresham<georgeg@1199.org>; James Introne<James.Introne@exec.ny.gov>; Jason Helgerson<jah23@health.state.ny.us>; Karen Ballard<kballard@nyc.rr.com>; Ken Raske<raske@gnyha.org>; Lara Kassel<lkassel@cdrnys.org>; Linda Gibbs<lgibbs@cityhall.nyc.gov>; Lisa Ullman<Lisa.Ullman@exec.ny.gov>; Max Chmura<max.e.chmura@omr.state.ny.us>; MikeDowling<mdowling@nshs.edu>; Mike Hogan<cocomfh@omh.state.ny.us>; RobertMegna<Robert.Megna@budget.state.ny.us>; Kemp Hannon (Senate)<hannon@nysenate.gov>; Thomas Duane (Senate)<duane@nysenate.gov>; SteveAcquario<sacquario@nysac.org>; Steve Berger<sberger@odysseyinvestment.com>

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: